Our conference website has been revamped. See what's new here.

Awards - Volunteer

oSTEM Volunteer of the Year & Spotlights

Award Description

This award recognizes volunteers who have gone above and beyond to bring oSTEM to new heights in the last year. The Executive Board recognizes volunteers who have demonstrated their drive to achieve great things and push our organization to grow. In the past, awardees have been recognized for creating our scholarship program, spearheading the pivot to an online format for our cornerstone event during COVID, cultivating and expanding institutional support for professional members and collegiate members, and stepping into leadership roles with grace and professionalism. oSTEM is powered by the hard work and commitment of our volunteers. It is only with volunteers like this that oSTEM is able to continue our work of empowering LGBTQ+ people in STEM and setting them up for success in the personal, academic, and professional realms. If the work of these volunteers inspires you, consider volunteering your time, talent, and effort.


  • Must be an oSTEM Global Volunteer
  • Must be attending the oSTEM Annual Conference

Award recipients are nominated and selected by the oSTEM Board of Directors.

Previous Awardees


profile photo of Ian Hall

Infrastructure Builder - Ian Hall

profile photo of Adam Blackburn

Community Builder - Adam Blackburn

profile photo of M Wittkop

Volunteer of the Year - M Wittkop

profile photo of Stuart Duncan

Conference MVP - Stuart Duncan


profile photo of Billie Harrer

oSTEM Community Creator - Billie Harrer

profile photo of Vern Gruning

oSTEM Behind The Scenes - Vern Gruning

profile photo of Sam Krug

Rookie Conference MVP - Sam Krug

profile photo of Josh LaBounty

Conference MVP - Josh LaBounty

profile photo of Sian Rankin-Turner

Rookie Volunteer of the Year - Sian Rankin-Turner

profile photo of Abby Ray

Volunteer of the Year - Abby Ray


profile photo of Stephanie Huard

Conference MVP - Stephanie Huard

profile photo of AJ Bryant

Volunteer of the Year - AJ Bryant


profile photo of Jared Canright

Conference MVP - Jared Canright

profile photo of Christian Alonso

Volunteer of the Year - Christian Alonso


profile photo of Lilian Martinez

Volunteer of the Year- Lilian Martinez

profile photo of Sindhu Sreedhar

Volunteer of the Year - Sindhu Sreedhar


profile photo of Janine van Niekerk

Volunteer of the Year - Janine van Niekerk